Guinness is a popular Irish dry stout that originated in the brewery of Arthur Guinness (1725–1803) at St. James's Gate, Dublin.
Made from water, barley, hops and brewer's yeast, the famous drink is then treated with isinglass finings (fishes' air bladders)
before the finished product ends up before the consumer. I am truly shocked as I DID NOT
know the gruesome truth before I tried what I am about to post below. I REALLY CANNOT BELIEVE
researching about the background and history of Guinness for this post actually made me aware that there are fish organs used in the production of Guinness Stout!
Looks like this post won't be vegetarian, but hopefully by reading this, vegetarians, vegans and those that never knew can be warned and made aware before they choose to order a glass of Guinness Stout or food that contains Guinness like the ice-cream at 'The Bee' in Jaya One.
By now, apart from feeling disgusted and cheated, I do not know what else to say about my experience. I guess the moral of the story is, never take for granted, especially when it comes to processed food, since you never know what is actually used to produce the product that ends up before you. According to wikipedia, "In the absence of "animal products used here" labels, vegetarians may be unaware that the processing of a commercially produced beverage may have utilized animal based finings: either gelatin, casein, albumen, or isinglass." Anyone else out there knows of some hidden secret that vegetarians and vegans should know about?
Labels: Dessert, Guinness Ice-cream, Jaya One, Malaysia, Petaling Jaya, Selangor, The Bee